Kinky Summer – 01/01/2015

To be honest I find New Years eve to be a bit overrated, however it is your last chance to do something rather naughty before your first step into the new year without having to look back.

I find Cape Town to be blessed with a number of different options when it comes to deciding where you will be spending the night looking for your new years kiss. However, after last years excellent performance by Kinky Disco New Years party, how could I miss out on another?

10835226_812755442134266_7891392332957703578_o

This year presented a nice little twist to the equation with the collaboration between Kinky Disco and We Love Summer (You could imagine my excitement). We arrived at the somewhat beautiful Mountain Shadows Country Manor (after a +-45 minute drive), where entering the party seemed simple enough (big ups – nothing worse than staring at the jolt stuck in your car). We then proceeded to get our arm bands and venture to the party (again pretty simple – 10pts). The walk to the party probably took us another +-45 minutes, however there was a pretty lake to keep us entertained on our exciting little excursion to the party.

Our first mission – suss out the place. My initial thoughts were, this is pretty cool – open field, two stages, with a random smaller one next to the food section. Once we had completed our critical analysis of the place, the bar! Good service, never had to wait too long to get a drink – which can almost always be a hack at any party, so well done guys!

As the night proceeded I found that with lack of lighting and massive grounds it became increasingly hard to find people. Fortunately I wasn’t too paraletic to know that it might be in my best interest to not lose my friends. So we decided to stick to one dance floor and jol the night away. After a few good hours of breaking it down to some talented Deep House DJ’s the necessity to breath started to become a difficult task. The hours of stomping and shuffling had caused any grass that once lay on that land to dissipate, only leaving dust. Not too long the whole party became a dust cloud. Come 4am I was tired from the long walks, my lungs felt like they had Clifton 4th sitting inside and the music had become something of an after thought. It was time to leave.

To sum up the party I would say it was maybe too big in size compared to last years. In a season full of outdoor parties I feel that it failed to exceed any expectations I would have for a regular outdoor. It was dusty, long walk to the car and the count down was very anti-climatic. However, I loved the music, was chuffed with the bar service and even scored a cheap Twisp for myself. 2013 – 2014 Kinky Disco still remains to be my favourite New Years eve.

Leave a Reply

